08
Apr
10

Effective Lighting With Just One Light

This afternoon I had the pleasure of participating in my first-ever webinar, Effective Lighting With Just One Light with Joe McNally. According to his tweet just a few hours before the webinar was set to begin, McNally said 2,000 people had registered! It was certainly a whirlwind of an hour, and I came away from it feeling inspired and energized to do some experimenting.

A few highlights/inspirations/reminders for myself:

Shoot what you love – When I receive assignments from the newspaper, I often forget to take some “me” time. Seeing McNally’s photo of the ballerina in the woods reminded me of my love of belly dance. I want to return to shooting the dancers I know.

Restrictions can be liberating – Choose a color and focus on that, or take it literally and find a suffocating space to shoot in!

Follow your gut instincts, and revisit familiar places – McNally’s choice to seek out and augment available light really speaks to me. For a long time, I would hem and haw over trying out flash; it creates a false atmosphere. He works with existing traits of a location and emphasizes them (for instance, lighting through a dirty or wet window).

0 Responses to “Effective Lighting With Just One Light”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What I’m doing:


