26
Jun
09

Already? European Adventure Part Deux

Sorry to my Anglophone friends about the last two posts – they’re for class! I promise to translate them for you when I come home.

It’s time to pack everything I possibly can into a box on wheels and head out. I’m ecstatic to get away from Paris and see something new, to plunge once more into some place totally unkown to me…

…But, in all honesty, I could reaaaaally go for some Taco Bell.

Last night we had a 2.5-hour goodbye dinner on the Seine. The monument guide was completely in English, the food was good, but typical €95 fare – ha! typical! – foie gras, pork fat jelly, mushrooms, steak, potato, ratatouille, plus sparkling champagne, Chardonnay, and some insanely dry red that I couldn’t stomach. The singer and violinist played a few French songs, but then they hit us with a couple of surprises: Frank Sinatra’s  New York, New York and The Rolling Stones’ (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction. So tacky. Each dish was merely a taste. Just a tease. It left our wallets, and my stomach, empty.

As soon as we got off the boat, we bought €3 crepes. And they were gooooood.

Mum came to Paris yesterday after a 4-hour delay in New York (ah, JFK, you never cease to amaze me). She called me jetlagged, frustrated as hell and crying. I was worried as hell because her plane landed at 11 a.m. but we couldn’t get in touch until 3 p.m. I blame it on bizarre phone dialing rules.  I was just relieved to know she was OK! I went to her hotel and, determined to actually do something fun, we went to Musée D’Orsay and saw some of our favorite Impressionist pieces. With our fatigue, we only lasted two hours.

I feel that traveling with her is going to have such a different dynamic than I’ve grown accustomed to over the past month, but it’s a good thing. Never grow complacent.

Today is the Big Day. I’m lugging all my crap up and down the metro steps with a smile on my face and a suspicious eye on the guy next to me, who in turn is probably eyeing my belongings.

Bruges, here we come.

0 Responses to “Already? European Adventure Part Deux”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What I’m doing:


