01
Jun
09

New Things

The Eiffel Tower, my first night in Paris

 I made a promise to myself before leaving home that I would try one new thing each day (food or otherwise) while I’m here. So far, it has stuck. A stroll to Notre Dame and the Seine helped us gather inspiration for our next picnic (the French really adore Heineken for some reason), and at dusk – keep in mind the sky doesn’t really get dark here until 10:30 p.m. – we wandered down a crowded alley and eventually found a smoky salsa club that somehow got away with playing mostly reggaeton. We met some locals and took a break from the tourists. Sweet.

But that’s all beside the point. Crepes with lemon and sugar are now my most favorite pre-class snack, thanks to my new Canadian classmate, Hannah. Our professor is truly amazing, but I will have to prove it with some video of her or something soon. This month will breeze past in her classroom.

Today involved a short visit to l’Arc de Triomphe where we saw a daily ceremony exhibitng the nation’s motto “Libérté, égalité, fraternité,” and an even shorter visit to Champs-Elysees. Way too crowded for my taste, but the Monoprix is a lifesaver! It’s basically a huge department store with stationery, books and groceries downstairs. One look at the candy aisle had me wondering how many tastes I could try before breaking the bank.

0 Responses to “New Things”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

What I’m doing:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


